Aram Shelton’s Arrive

Aram Shelton's Arrive
Aram Shelton’s Arrive

The debut album by the quartet Arrive, which features Aram Shelton on alto saxophone, Jason Adasiewicz on vibraphone, Jason Roebke on bass, and Tim Daisy on drums. Recorded in 2001. The albums’ five tracks are among Shelton’s earliest compositions, and an early document of these now established players.

“Reedist Aram Shelton plays with a thoughtfulness and structural rigor that’s rare in a twentysomething jazz musician, but he also brings a deeply improvisational mind-set to each of his projects…The quartet Arrive isn’t as well-known as [his other groups Dragons 1976 and Grey Ghost]—that should change when 482 Music releases its debut this fall—but it’s as good as anything Shelton’s had a hand in. Its tightly arranged, emotionally muted originals have a lovely chamber-jazz feel, with musicians combining to repeat unison phrases and carve out spaces for solos; the pieces are elaborate yet never sound fussed over.”—Peter Margasak, Chicago Reader

” …if Arrive is any indication… Shelton has arrived as a composer of some significance… will surprise and delight those who might normally avoid such unconventional and nonconformist music.” — John Kelman, All About Jazz

“Albums like this one announce that there’s plenty of room in the Windy City klieg lights for an entire assembly of players, not just those anointed by the tastemakers.” — Derek Taylor, Dusted

“Remarkably gentle and economical… Arrive is pure and deliberate…” — Matthew Lurie, Time Out Chicago

“What marks the the album as different from other experiments in sound is that you find yourself coming back to Arrive and its unfolding multifaceted sound.” — Michael McCaw, All About Jazz

Jason Adasiewicz is a vibraphonist, drummer, and composer. He is an integral member of Chicago’s jazz and improvised music scene, bringing his aggressive yet lyrical style to over 10 working Chicago groups, including Rob Mazurek’s Starlicker and Exploding Star Orchestra, Mike Reed’s Loose Assembly, Peter Brotzmann:Jason Adasiewicz Duo, Josh Berman and His Gang, Ingebrigt Häker Flaten Chicago Sextet, James Falzone’s Klang and Ken Vandermark’s Topology and Midwest School. Adasiewicz performs frequently in Europe and is a member of groups lead by Peter Brotzmann, Mats Gustafsson, and Stefano Bollani.

The diversity of Jason Roebke’s musical associations make him one of the most sought after bassists in Chicago and beyond. He composes music for two ensembles, Jason Roebke Combination and the Jason Roebke Octet. Solo performance and a duo with dancer Ayako Kato are also at the forefront of his creative activities. His playing is intensely physical, audacious, and sparse. The Chicago Reader described his work as “a carefully orchestrated rummage through a hardware store.” He is a member of the Jeb Bishop Trio, Jason Adasiewicz Rolldown, Jason Stein’s Locksmith Isidore, Mike Reed’s People, Places, and Things, and Jorrit Dijkstra’s Flatlands Collective & Pillow Circles. Roebke studied privately with saxophonist and composer Roscoe Mitchell as well as legendary double bass pedagogue Stuart Sankey. In 2009, he was awarded the Fellowship in Music Composition from the Illinois Arts Council. Roebke tours widely in the US and Europe.

Tim Daisy is a Chicago based percussionist, composer and educator working in the fields of improvised and composed music. Born and raised in northeastern Illinois, he moved to Chicago in 1997 and has since performed, recorded, and toured with many acclaimed musicians and ensembles from both the USA and abroad. Working in a number of different environments, he has composed for solo percussion, chamber groups, jazz ensembles, dance, theater, and film. Daisy has had the fortunate experience to work with many of the most cutting edge musicians currently working in the filed of improvised music including: Ken Vandermark, Jeb Bishop , Fred Lonberg-Holm, James Falzone, Dave Rempis, Steve Swell, John Tchicai, Mars Williams, Joe McPhee, Michael Zerang, and Frank Rosaly.

482 Music. 2005. CD in jewel case.