Arrive features Aram Shelton on alto saxophone, Jason Adasiewicz on vibraphone, Jason Roebke on bass and Tim Daisy on drums. Arrive has been performing together since the winter of 2001, and has since developed their own distinct sound. Their most recent album "There Was..." (Clean Feed) features six original compositions showing some of the countless capabilities of this quartet. It was recorded in the summer of 2008, immediately after a two week eastern US tour.

Arrive (Aram Shelton, Jason Adasiewicz, Jason Roebke, Tim Daisy) by Peter Gannushkin / DOWNTOWNMUSIC.NET
Arrive at Zebulon i New York. Photo by Peter Gannushkin / DOWNTOWNMUSIC.NET


Arrive's second album was a live recording, captured in one night at Elastic Arts in Chicago. A works-in-progress document of some of the music that appears on the Clean Feed album "There Was..." The album also featured a new rendition of the track "All Dressed Up" from their debut. Download Available.

Their debut self-titled album was recorded by Devin Davis at Acme Recording in Chicago in 2001 and released in 2005 by 482 Music as part of their Document Chicago series.

Jason Adasiewicz is a vibraphonist, drummer, and composer. He is an integral member of Chicago’s jazz and improvised music scene, bringing his aggressive yet lyrical style to over 10 working Chicago groups, including Rob Mazurek’s Starlicker and Exploding Star Orchestra, Mike Reed’s Loose Assembly, Peter Brotzmann:Jason Adasiewicz Duo, Josh Berman and His Gang, Ingebrigt Häker Flaten Chicago Sextet, James Falzone’s Klang and Ken Vandermark’s Topology and Midwest School. Adasiewicz performs frequently in Europe and is a member of groups lead by Peter Brotzmann, Mats Gustafsson, and Stefano Bollani.

The diversity of Jason Roebke’s musical associations make him one of the most sought after bassists in Chicago and beyond. He composes music for two ensembles, Jason Roebke Combination and the Jason Roebke Octet. Solo performance and a duo with dancer Ayako Kato are also at the forefront of his creative activities. His playing is intensely physical, audacious, and sparse. The Chicago Reader described his work as “a carefully orchestrated rummage through a hardware store.” He is a member of the Jeb Bishop Trio, Jason Adasiewicz Rolldown, Jason Stein’s Locksmith Isidore, Mike Reed’s People, Places, and Things, and Jorrit Dijkstra’s Flatlands Collective & Pillow Circles. Roebke studied privately with saxophonist and composer Roscoe Mitchell as well as legendary double bass pedagogue Stuart Sankey. In 2009, he was awarded the Fellowship in Music Composition from the Illinois Arts Council. Roebke tours widely in the US and Europe.

Tim Daisy is a Chicago based percussionist, composer and educator working in the fields of improvised and composed music. Born and raised in northeastern Illinois, he moved to Chicago in 1997 and has since performed, recorded, and toured with many acclaimed musicians and ensembles from both the USA and abroad. Working in a number of different environments, he has composed for solo percussion, chamber groups, jazz ensembles, dance, theater, and film. Daisy has had the fortunate experience to work with many of the most cutting edge musicians currently working in the filed of improvised music including: Ken Vandermark, Jeb Bishop , Fred Lonberg-Holm, James Falzone, Dave Rempis, Steve Swell, John Tchicai, Mars Williams, Joe McPhee, Michael Zerang, and Frank Rosaly.


Arrive: There Was
Arrive: There Was
Released by Clean Feed in 2011.

"Shelton and company transcend stylistic preconceptions with a modernistic spin on the tradition. A judicious use of melodic counterpoint, intervallic themes and shifting time signatures provide these compositions with an expansive dynamic range and bracing vitality unique to their time." - All About Jazz

Aram Shelton's Arrive
Aram Shelton's Arrive
Released in 2005 by 482 Music.